Be Careful What You Wish For

Two days ago  (Wednesday) was one of my best school nights. Dad brought me to school; I did not have to sweat like a furnace going to school and at the same time, I can save the money (the very few money) I should use for transportation. Although I ate lunch alone that afternoon because I was ashamed of opening my lunchbox inside a fastfood (and not buying any of their food), I ate happily and contentedly. Late afternoon, I attended a symposium and managed to rest–again, peacefully–thanks to the monotonous lullabies of men and women in  corporate suits and the 24-degree Centigrade temperature. Ah, life was good for me that day, but the goodness had not stopped there. In the evening, I met with my Mom and together, we went shopping! She bought me a pair of brogues (my first!) and lingerie. (it was something like this, the BROGUES)

We had another successful and fun mom-and-daughter date which consisted of an eat-all-you-can salad dinner plus two other dishes and two cups of topped with Baby Ruth chunks and Smores respectively. Of course it wouldn’t be complete without us going home in our silver, 4-wheeled carriage with the queen’s knight in shining armour driving it. It was amazing. Until I got home and slept.

We arrived late–around 11:30–so by the time I got to bed, it was already 12:30 (I’m the usual type of girl who usually takes at least an hour to get ready for…almost anything). My class the following day was scheduled at 7:30 which meant I had to wake up at 5:15, which meant I would undermine my health because I will lack sleep. That I hated.

I really wished to attend my morning class even though that was the subject I sucked the most at: Math. Actually, the lessons we had were quite easy and our professor was female and very courteous, but it’s the schedule I hated. So I did what any child of God would do: run to Daddy with arms open wide and a wish that he/she knows the answer to, but for some reason she still tells Daddy. (I felt like this kid below, tugging God’s heavenly clothes)

I appealed to God.”Lord, please, ayoko na pong pumasok bukas.” (Lord, please, I don’t want to go to class tomorrow). I disliked attending class the next day because I will lack sleep. As I prayed that prayer, the most clever idea entered my mind. grins

The only way I would wake up early was if my phone alarmed. So if it didn’t, I would sleep long.

If anyone asked why I woke up late, I could just tell them, “My phone did not ring.” This is totally true.

So I wished upon a God–a real One. “Lord, I will wake up when you want me to.” That means my body will dictate the time I wake up and not my cell phone.

A deceitful wish, that’s what I would like to call it. Thankfully, God is not Zeus who would probably throw lightning bolts at me or send me straight to Tartarus in Hades for wishing such a thing. It’s not really that bad, but when you look closer, you can see my motives: ny selfishness and irresponsibility. I realized that sometimes, God would give you what you want even if it will do you harm because He wants you to learn your lesson the hard way.

The following morning (Thursday), my body woke me up at 8 AM. I was half asleep when I saw the clock; that time, I stupidly concluded my first class was at 10:30. The next time I opened my eyes it was 8:30. After three seconds of deep thinking, I jumped out of bed and hurried to the bathroom. But later, I realized (I’m having lots of realizations lately) that I was not going to make it to my morning class, so why hurry? My next class won’t start until 1:30. However, I promised my science groupmates I would arrive at 10:30 to finish our project. Again, I did something at the wrong time. I arrived at school at exactly 11:30, an hour late. 😐

While you were reading my experience, you probably thought I was such a baby for making ‘small’ matters look incredibly bad. The truth is simple; you can’t modify  it. Sin is sin no matter how small. I was clearly at the wrong and I knew it, but I chose to stick to it. I used God to my advantage so that I could “rightfully blame” Him if I wake up late. Now that’s something I should not have done. I tell you, don’t do it! Don’t play games with God. He’s a fun Person, but that’s not His idea of clean fun.

I wish I was more careful for what I wished for…

because as it turned out,

I got it.

And it wasn’t good.

Leave a Reply

