Say Thank You, Satan Hates It

“Contentment means suppressing the desire for more and more. And it means recognizing that we are God’s stewards of our possessions.”

– Donald M. Geiger

Television has a way of making complaining and ingratitude look okay. Look at the chick flicks. The audience pities the 16-year old teenage wannabe who rattles her insecurities to her best friend because she’s never been kissed. Yesterday, I chanced upon Modern Family and the episode was set on a beach. A couple was swimming and enjoying themselves when their teenage daughter suddenly interrupts them and asks if she could spend time at the hotel of the new friends she met at the pool (friends I assume to be boys). The Mom was very hesitant, but the Dad reminded her to be a “tigress” and to “let their daughter go.” Probably because they can’t handle their precious angel. I’m not judging them, but do they fear their angel would retaliate? Anyway, my point is, ingratitude seems okay nowadays. If that’s the case, then earlier today, I was not okay.

Being a melancholic, criticalness is one of my chief weaknesses. I tend to over analyze and criticize everything. Earlier this afternoon, the monster got the best of me. Well, almost. 🙂 Ingratitude is as despicable as the fury in Greek mythology or the first installment of the Percy Jackson novels. 😐

Utterly horrid. Any sin can turn a good person into the worst monster he never imagined he could be. I have to be careful.

Thankfully, my God is so powerful, gracious and loving. I immediately sought His help, Holy Spirit refill and strength to say “NO!” to ingratitude. A tug-of-war ensued in my heart. Because of His power in me, I was able to count my blessings and not my problems, and attributed all of them to Him: Jesus Christ. 🙂

“Always be full of joy in the Lord; Again I say, rejoice!” the Lord commands in Philippians 4:4. Joy is the antidote to worry; thankfulness is the pathway to joy. 🙂 Whenever you feel like the Fury leads you into a private room and attacks you from behind, practice the 222 Principle, based on 2 Timothy 2:22: Run, Follow, Pursue.

Run from anything that stimulates youthful lust. Follow anything that makes you want to do right. Pursue faith, love, peace and enjoy the companionship of those who call on the Lord with pure hearts.”

To close this entry, I shall type a short, insightful story I found in our quote book.

There is a legend of a man who found the barn where Satan kept his seeds ready to be sown in the human heart, and on finding the seeds of discouragement more numerous than others, learned that those seeds could be made to grow almost anywhere. When Satan was questioned he reluctantly admitted that there was one place in which he could never get them to thrive.

“And where is that?” asked the man.

Satan replied sadly, “In the heart of a grateful man.”

All the more we should say…

🙂

Leave a Reply

