Search For The Sage and My First Dish for 2011

After I dropped by school to submit my notebook filler and confirm my acceptance in my course (go IMC!),  I headed to Rustan’s Supermarket and shopped for my first ever dish for 2011!!

Unfortunately, my parents brought our two cameras with them so I had no recording device to chronicle today’s adventure. Nevertheless, it was fun!

I was thankful our pantry contained most of the ingredients I needed, so I bought all the things I lacked. After grabbing two cans of tuna in oil and a block of cheese (can you guess what I’m trying to make?), I headed to the vegetables section. I searched for sage leaves, but unfortunately, the supermarket ran out of stocks. Since I was just repeating a recipe I cooked last year in my Home Economics class in high school, I decided to head home and buy the sage leaves where I bought the leaves then: at Puregold. Or so I thought.

When I asked the crew for sage leaves, they said the supermarket sold no product. That’s when I realized my mistake. Last year, I bought sage leaves from Shopwise, not Puregold!

I hopped on board another jeep and got down at Pasong Tamo, about 250 meters away from Shopwise. It was already two in the afternoon when I reached Pasong Tamo. I could have ridden a jeepney to the supermarket, but I opted to walk so that I could exercise. 😉 When I arrived at Shopwise, I hurried to the vegetables section and searched for sage leaves, only to find out that…

they were not there either!! 😐

I really wanted to cook today so I made up my mind to substitute basil with sage. Later I learned that I should have bought thyme or rosemary instead. Anyway, the cooking sites I visited assured me that basil would be a fine substitute so I used it in my recipe.

So what is my recipe? Wanting to use the whole wheat spaghetti noodles I bought last year, I decided to cook Yummy magazine’s Tuna Fettucine in Brown Butter Sauce. Due to budget and ingredient availability constraints, I modified the recipe. Thus, Whole Wheat Spaghetti With Tuna, Basil and Butter Sauce was born! Here is the recipe, including the brands I used for the ingredients.

Ingredients (with the actual measurements I used)

500 grams whole wheat spaghetti noodles

6 tablespoons Queensland butter

16 dried basil leaves

4 cans Century Tuna in vegetable oil

4 tablespoons (squares) Knorr chicken cubes

6 tablespoons Queso (Parmesan cheese would have been better, but I had a tight budget)

salt and pepper to taste (this I did not have to use)

Procedures

  1. Cook noodles according to package directions.
  2. Melt butter over medium-low heat. Add and stir sage, cooking until butter is dark amber in color. Set aside sage leaves once they curl up.
    Toss in tuna.
  3. Add stock to butter, followed by pasta and cheese. Toss to coat. Add some pasta water if sauce is too dry.
  4. Season with salt and pepper. Garnish with cooked basil leaves and top with more cheese.

Notes

  • Unfortunately for me, the packager forgot to type or intentionally neglected typing an English translation of the directions (it was all Italiano!). I boiled water (1/2-3/4 of the pot) then added 3 teaspoons salt. Afterwards, I added the noodles. I boiled the noodles for 10 minutes only to find out that the time was not enough. If you’re using whole wheat pasta, cook them for 2-3 minutes longer because of their hard texture.
  • Drain the tuna cans of their oil! 🙂
  • If you’re not using Parmesan cheese, make sure that you dissolve the cheese well.

I present to you, my first dish for 2011! Bon appetit!

In spite of the slightly undercooked noodles (but soft enough to be chewed), my pasta received heartwarming praises from my family members! Note: they are not biased, especially my parents! :)) Haha!

“Good! It’s a little salty for me and the noodles should be cooked more, but the taste is delicious! Pwedeng pang restaurant. Your grade is 94 over 100.” – Jean J. Talam

“Yummy! Almost perfect!” – Ferdie Talam

“Your dish is irresistible.” – Joshua Talam 🙂

YAY! I can’t wait to have more gastronomic adventures! What should I cook next? I’m thinking of a Mediterranean dish or an amalgamation of Italian and Filipino ingredients. In the summer, I’m definitely making coconut-avocado ice cream. Watch out for that! 😀

Leave a Reply

