More Powerful Than Hercules

About two hours ago (it is now 11 PM), I watched Hercules on Disney. The scene that greeted me when I switched on the TV was the part where Phil (Philoctetes, Hercules’ trainer), Pegasus and Hercules went (or should I say, flew) to the city of Thebes hoping that Hercules could snag a heroic job. The ‘Thebians,’ having survived repercussions of natural disasters, laughed at Hercules and turned down his sincere offer. One of the citizens, a tall, portly guy whose teeth seemed to have been washed away in the shores for having been mistaken as chipped seashells, asked Hercules this question:

“Can you reverse natural disasters?”

You don’t have to be a meteorologist to answer this question. I bet the guy wasn’t even expecting Hercules to answer; he probably intended to expose the inadequacy of the prominent Greek god.

About five minutes later, the same portly guy who mocked Hercules’ heroic capabilities gave him a hero’s parade after defeating the Hydra that Hades, Hercules’ uncle, sent along his nephew’s way. A momentary victory that involved no reversing of natural disasters whatsoever deterred a man’s views on heroism.

This scene from an animated film–one of my favorite Disney classics, I must say–led me to 2 realizations:

  1. The ultimate hero is the one guy who can reverse natural disasters. Man can somehow control and escape famine, crime, persecution and war, but he can never flee the perils of raging waters and throbbing tectonic plates.
  2. We tend to focus on the momentary acts of chivalry so that we could at least be free–even for a while–from the seemingly permanent troubles that surround us. Even if they don’t make up for half of our problems.

The real hero is one who delivers us from our deepest struggles. From situations where you have no way out, and all you can do is sit around and wait for someone to help you. Thankfully, there is a Man who passed the criteria. I think you know Who I’m talking about.

In case you don’t have the slightest clue, His Name is Jesus. If, by any chance you heard the names Wonderful, Counselor, Good Shepherd, Messiah, Son of God, Prince of Peace, Immanuel, Lamb of God, Man of Sufferings, King of Kings and Lord of Lords, you just heard some of His many other beautiful Names.

Several minutes later–when Meg resigned from being Hades’ toy–a question formed in my head.

“If God is the ultimate authentic hero who can reverse natural disasters, why did He allow Japan to suffer 3 consecutive beatings from Nature?”

The truth is, I don’t know. I know God read the question written all over my head, but He did not answer it. He has His reasons–good, purposeful reasons. But for now, I’m not in the position to know them.

All I know is that there is an even deeper problem than tsunamis and earthquakes that God has indeed addressed. And that is man’s eternal state. (for more info on salvation, go here) God is the Hero Who majors on the majors. Unlike human superheroes, God does not try way too hard to solve life’s problems. He does not need to save every damsel in distress to prove His power. Yet, He does.

Okay…where am I taking this? Well by God’s grace my deepest problem–my sin problem–has already been solved so I’m relieved. That means I won’t be justified as a sinner any longer. When God sees me, He sees Jesus’ blood and so He calls me daughter. Princess. Child.

Right now, however, I have a problem. Well it’s more of the aftermath of a problem. I have a confession to make: I became complacent in my last semester of my 1st year in college. And the consequence?

I won’t be seeing my name on the dean’s list this year. Or ever in UA&P because there’s a 99.99% chance I won’t be studying there again. (More juicy details on that soon)

Call me whatever you like–nerd, grades-obsessed, geek–but I love school. Two of the things I hold dearly in life I can be cultivate in any educational institution: learning and relationships. For this reason, school rocks. However, I sometimes fail to show my love for him (I usually call things and places ‘him’ so that I can easily use similes and metaphors). I tend to be the unfaithful wife who commits adultery with my many lovers, namely, Tumblr, Facebook, CSI, Glee and extended eating times. Thankfully, I have a gracious and loving God to back me up (He is my real husband, btw). He never–ever–fails to lead me back to the right track. Back to where I chose studying for a Chem exam even if it was 3 days away over watching an episode of CSI New York. Back to where I read my readings, not skipping a line, instead of my newly bought book.

I am telling you this now because I just saw my grades online a few hours ago. Right now, my biggest struggle is how I’ll tell my parents and how they will respond.

My parents are not type of parents who tracked every academic record of their children–even the 5-item quiz–just so they could be assured that they’re afloat and even walking on water. They do require three of us–me, Josh and James–to succeed and excel in our studies because it’s their greatest pamana (inheritance) to us. By God’s amazing goodness, my parents sent me to a prestigious and undoubtedly expensive university. Add to that the daily allowance, food expenses, chauffering to various school projects and requirements and the undying support especially during the times I was down. They don’t deserve this.

But then again, they don’t deserve anything either! We all do! This reality made alive by God’s grace which was expressed so vividly on the cross somehow comforted me, but only a little. I will do better next time. I will study harder especially that I am in college. I. am. a. college. student.

The incessant struggle with “educational adultery” haunts me to this day, but I know I have a Hero who would immediately sweep me away from stumbling as soon as I call out to Him. Let this Hero save you. Cause He can. And He will. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

