Operation Security

If you were to ask me what disease today’s generation is paralyzed with today, it is insecurity. A lot of adolescents are insecure. I have been (and still am, when I  let my guard down) insecure. Those days when insecurity boxed you in were utterly miserable and detestable. Maybe you are inside that box now, or you just got out, or you are far away from that strange existence. If you belong to the former group, I want to encourage you. Insecurity is not and should not be dominant in your life.

None of us wants to be labeled, called and named

fat

stupid

incapable

shorty (pandak)

walking stick

ugly

wannabe/trying hard

hopeless

and other demeaning words that are not true. Although I’m sure the people who told me I was fat meant it for my good, I can’t deny that I was hurt. What hurts more is when I still receive that remark after dieting and exercising religiously. A slap on the face is more like it. There was also a time during my elementary and high school years when I did not win any medal for the 4 or 5 English essays that I submitted. I looked down on my writing abilities. My mom encouraging me did not help; I reasoned that  she just commended me because I was her daughter. It was her job to build me up. Turns out, my reason proved false. Mom commended me because she saw potential (and I hope that even a slightest potential can be seen now as you read this entry).

The truth is, most of our insecurities are not true or at least, not entirely true. You look at yourself in front of a full-length mirror, and all you see is adipose tissue bulging in so many different places. You lay down in bed and all you can think of are the things you’re not good at. Auditions  (or competitions) fail you every time you try, and you think maybe this wasn’t your game after all. While most of what we think, see and hear are true, they are not complete truths. For truth to be valid, it must be complete. If you look closely at that mirror and search your heart, not your fat,  you can see a girl or boy who can persevere and maintain discipline. You’re not good at what you do yet, but with perseverance and diligence, you can be the best. You might not pass a hundred auditions or win competitions and yet triumph at the 1o1th, garnering you the role that is destined for you to play. The enemy will tell you to focus on the negative things now instead to work for the promise (even promises) that lies/lie ahead of you.

I felt the most insecure during those times when all I could think of was how bad I was at certain things, the wrong things I said to my family and friends, and my flaws. Insecurity gets the best of you when you focus on yourself. Do you realize what this means? Insecurity is a subtle form of pride. Insecurity begins with “I.”  You are valuable, special, and unique, but the world does not revolve around you. The world teaches us to have self-confidence in order to be truly happy, but what if you’ve lost all confidence in yourself? Confidence must not lie in yourself, but rather, in Christ. Jesus Christ is perfect, loving, understanding and in control regardless of what you do. “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever,” Hebrews 13:9. Unless you know of someone who remains perfect for eternity, I suggest you put your faith in Christ now. 

Antidote #2 to insecurity is gratefulness. Take a moment to count your blessings instead of your problems. Jesus revolutionized human thinking when He said,

“In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” – I Thessalonians 5:18

Everything. Thank God for your broken knee, the hot-tempered boss,  bad weather, failed expectations. Why? Why thank God for both good and bad things?

Antidote #3 makes “complete gratitude” and not selective gratitude possible: Know and believe that God has a perfect, pleasing, beautiful, and joyful plan for your life. We focus on ourselves the moment we lose sight of the big picture that God is painting for us. When God made you, He did not say, “Oh I hope so-and-so would live  a miserable life. May he/she never experience eternal bliss!”

” Far be it from God to do evil, from the Almighty to do wrong.” – Job 34:10

“For I know the plans that I have for you, says the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

The antidote to insecurity is sealed with fear and trust in the Lord. To fear the Lord is to do what is pleasing in His sight because you fear to break His heart.

 Blessed are those who fear the LORD,
who find great delight in his commands.

They will have no fear of bad news;
their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the LORD.
 Their hearts are secure, they will have no fear;
in the end they will look in triumph on their foes.

– Psalm 112:1, 7-8

I hope you take this journey with me as I declare freedom from insecurity in Christ’s Name. Only He can deliver you from society’s labels. Don’t let false, demeaning words, society, or even yourself define you; let Christ do that. He made you. Only He knows what you can become. Choose to trust Him today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

