“How Can I Give You Up?”

One of the things I love about the Bible is that it can be personalized. Albeit unknown to many, God’s Word is His love letter to man. 🙂 Even if a verse, chapter, or book was written to a specific person or people, God’s words still apply to people today because it’s the only truth that will last forever.

” The entirety of Your word is truth,
And every one of Your righteous judgments endures forever.”

– Psalm 119:160

“ All flesh is as grass,
And all the glory of man as the flower of the grass.
The grass withers,
And its flower falls away,
But the word of the LORD endures forever.”

– 1 Peter 1:24-25

My quiet time this morning left me in awe of God’s amazing love. I couldn’t believe what I was reading, but I had to, because it is the truth. This is the personalized version:

 “ I taught Jenny to walk,
Taking her by her arms;
But she did not know that I healed her.
  I drew her with gentle cords,
      With bands of love, 
And I was to her as those who take the yoke from her neck.
I stooped and fed her.

How can I give you up, Jenny? 
      How can I hand you over, Jennifer Grace? 
How can I make you like Admah?
How can I set you like Zeboiim?
My heart churns within Me;
My sympathy is stirred.”

– Daddy God (Hosea 11:3-4, 8)

If you are a child of God, claim these verses!! God can’t and won’t give you up no matter how bad you get. However, God is also just. He cannot let your sin go unpunished. As a Father, He will discipline you when you do wrong.

“For whom the LORD loves He chastens,
And scourges every son whom He receives.”

– Hebrews 12:6

God’s love has no threshold, but His patience does. Don’t abuse it.

I’m sure you will agree that it feels good to know you’re loved–really, actually. This feeling, which actually transcends feelings, is amazing! 🙂 Thank You, Jesus.

 

3 thoughts on ““How Can I Give You Up?”

  1. That is so true that it is the only truth that will last forever! Thank-you for reminding all of us that God loves us and His book is written to us just as much as it is written to those in biblical times!

Leave a Reply

