Called To Account

Writing has always been and will always be my passion. When I was younger, I wrote inspirational essays and short stories on several pieces of A4 bond papers and afterwards stapled and shaped them into my own “book.” Back then I was my own publisher and my parents were my most avid readers. Today they still are my avid readers and I still dream of getting published (if only I can get my thoughts and ideas rearranged). The pen, as well as the keyboard, was my best friend, the English grammar my instructor, and choice literature my mentors.

Possessing a brain with a possibly larger right hemisphere, I have not grown to love numbers and analysis. I’ll admit that I’m pretty slow when I am tasked to correctly supply the proof with the rules of inference in syllogism. After struggling with geometry and logic in high school and 1st year of college respectively, I thought I was relieved from hurdling countless rules, postulates, and concepts relating to analysis and numbers. Unfortunately,  my struggle has just begun.

I knew from the moment I enlisted for that subject that I would experience difficulty liking and befriending Basic Accounting. Pardon my harshness, but I always viewed accounting as a boring and dull subject and field of expertise. In spite having this distorted misconception, I highly esteemed (and still esteem) accountants because they really are people who have the right to be called professionals thanks to their hard-earned licenses. However, I saw myself in a career which continuously pursues innovative and creative write-ups and projects–a feat accountants do not usually do. Thus, my resistance to the subject.

Yet no matter how much I tried to avoid analysis and accounting (I opted for health instead of accounting as an elective in high school), they just kept coming back to me as if to say, “Knowledge of us even in the lowest level is a must for every employee in the corporate world.” For real?! Unfortunately for me, I have a mom who thought the same way. She voluntarily accompanied me during my enrollment so that she could choose the subjects that I would be dealing with. If only she enrolled in the MBA program….

In my cranial shelves, accounting definitely belonged to this classification. It took me two weeks before I partially understood debit and credit and their effect on assets, liabilities, and owner’s equity. As I listed entries onto my journal last Thursday, I suddenly appreciated the numerous writing assignments and exercises in UA&P and MICA (my present Alma mater). I’d choose writing a handful of essays over journalizing,  posting to the ledger, and trial balancing anytime!

As I penned each digit in the rightmost columns of my journal, I realized something. There must be a reason why God allowed me to take accounting. As a matter of fact, I don’t have any English or communication subject this semester! “Okay, Lord, what are you trying to teach me?”

one of my most favorite reblogged Tumblr photos

At present, I am undergoing what I call a “knowledge and experience stretch.” What I have been running away from for so long I now have to face and conquer. I learned that in  God’s training program, He does not stop until each man (or woman) successfully completes a challenge he or she finds repulsive. It is one’s response to what he thinks is not good or proper for him that determines the depth of his character and spiritual maturity.

That Thursday evening, I braced myself for the next four months of nosebleeding, brain bleeding, and understanding accounting as well as principles of finance and law on obligations and contracts (yes, I am taking those subjects, too). Analysis is not just for accountants, bankers, and lawyers. Writers and artists need it, too. I know I do. 🙂

Images courtesy of Google Images

2 thoughts on “Called To Account

  1. Hi Honey, this is wonderful! I love it! Now I’m relieved to know that you can count well. I will pray for you, for strength and endurance to finish well with this subject/s. I know you will. I’m so proud of you. I love you very much!

Leave a Reply

