What I’ve Been Learning Lately (WIBLL)

Hello blogworld! 🙂 I apologize for my lack of a decent post last week. I took my exam in accounting, business statistics, philosophy, and psychology last week and finance on Monday . I still have two exams left–Law on obligations and contracts and fundamentals in programming and database–so expect another week of inactivity after this post. That being said, let’s move on.

I am grateful for having a God and at the same time my Father, Best Friend, Teacher, and Lord Who is exceedingly good and patient with me. He never fails in fulfilling His promises to me when I obey His commands. Unlike Him, I fail in fulfilling my promises. When I told God and myself that I will commit to memorize and recite all the chapters of the book of Psalm this year, I failed to weigh the implications of my decision. I thought I can memorize another book of the Bible just like what I did in high school only to remember three months later that I was able to accomplish that feat because 1. I had all the time in the world (I can excuse schoolwork with memorizing) and 2. I managed my time well then. I made that promise three months ago and until today, I can’t go past Psalm 9. Last week, I asked myself, “Why do I want to memorize and recite the book of Psalm?”

I disliked what my conscience told me, but I had to accept it. I had to quit playing games with myself and start dealing with reality.

“You just want to add another seemingly wonderful accomplishment to your list of bragging rights. And if you believe memorizing 150 or 500 chapters from the Bible would make you more spiritual, then you’re on the wrong path.”

I confessed my sin before the Lord and asked Him if I could free myself of my commitment which, after three months, I resolved to nullify. He said yes, but He also told me that He was hurt by my decision.

“Again you have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not swear falsely, but shall perform your oaths to the Lord.’  But I say to you, do not swear at all: neither by heaven, for it is God’s throne; nor by the earth, for it is His footstool; nor by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the great King. Nor shall you swear by your head, because you cannot make one hair white or black.” (Matthew 5:33-36)

This does not mean that a Christian must not promise anything to the Lord, but if he does, he must be committed to keep it. My dad gave me clear illustration of this instance once when we were talking in our car on the way to my school (then UA&P). I asked him if it is a sin to break your promises to God.

“I don’t think so, but God will surely be hurt. Like me, for example. If you promise to massage me tonight, then night comes and you don’t massage me, I still love you, but I am hurt.”

I apologized to the Lord for breaking my promise concerning His Word and He readily forgave me. The memory of my failure still haunts me, though. In spite of my unfaithfulness, God calmly assured me through Peter Furler’s song “Reach:”

“I fall again and again

but You whisper, 

‘You’re still Mine.’ “

Then God revealed to me why I haven’t been keeping my promises: I have been focusing on the wrong things. My priorities are out of joint.

Again, I asked for His forgiveness and again, God readily forgave me. The amazing thing about God is that He’s so good and faithful in keeping His promises to His children. He will never fail us–or you. 🙂

How about you? What have you been learning lately? 🙂

Leave a Reply

