Smile For The Camera!

Last night, I was blessed to have been fetched by  my Dad from school after accounting class because it was raining cats and dogs! (As I type this it is still raining cats and dogs) As a Filipino born and raised in my native land, I am used to soaking my new shoes in cold, rainwater and running for shelter when an umbrella is not at hand; however, I still dislike getting my feet soaked (for fear also of leptospirosis) and wetting my clothes (especially if I’m going to a place from home). Imagine my excitement when I received a message from my Dad during accounting class saying that he will pick me up. That “will”makes all the difference because he usually asks me first what time I’ll be dismissed; he already made up his mind to fetch me! Thanks Dad!

On our way home, lightning’s light flashed across the dark night sky (I say light because there weren’t any bolts). I asked my Dad if he saw the lights and he said no, but he told me to smile. “Why?”

“Because God is taking a photo of you.”

I imagined God holding a DSLR with the world’s most powerful lenses and taking photos of Filipinos squirming under their umbrellas while waiting for a jeepney, cab, or tricycle to usher them home safely. That thought of God snapping photos of mankind ignited my imagination which was not put to rest until I slept later that same evening. If God does have a wide array of cameras and lenses (and would like to believe so), how powerful those cameras must be! Anywhere between the Milky Way galaxy and thousands of other galaxies could be His location for a photoshoot. His flashes are so magnanimous they can be seen in the sky. When His setting lacks adequate light, He doesn’t wait for light to come; He commands it to come! There is nothing nature can do that can rob His photos of the best quality because He has the Creator advantage, and He can manipulate nature according to His liking. His models are creatures made after His own image. Can you say God is the best photographer in the world? 🙂 (And next to Him is my earthly Dad who is getting better at digital photography every day!)

Thanks to my loving and intelligent fathers, I have a reason to smile when lightning flashes before my eyes. When the storms of life hit me, I can be confident and joyful because the best photographer and Father in the entire universe won’t take His eyes off me. 🙂 He sees through every fibre of my being and gently molds me into the person He intended me to be. Even getting hit by lightning and dying because of it won’t be too heavy a burden for me because maybe God liked my smile so much He took me to Heaven to show the angels how the best smile on earth looked like. 😀

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7, NLT

Speaking of cameras–before I end this entry–my Dad is selling his CANON EOS-1D MARK II DIGITAL WITH EF 70-200MM F/4L USM LENS. Go visit the link–I know you want to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

