Where Will Happiness Strike Next? Coca-Cola Phils’ The OFW Project

In case you don’t know, I am a marketing student–a business administration-majoring-in-marketing-management student to be exact. We recently concluded the preliminary portion of  all our classes but I’ve already learned a lot in my marketing class. My professor, Dr. Leonardo Garcia or Dr. “Nards” as we all called him, taught at a fast pace and I am getting the idea that I need to do a lot of speed reading and mental running if I wish to pass his subject with flying colors. 🙂 One of the main topics of our discussion is about the corporate social responsibility or CSR of companies. Gone are the days when marketers are only concerned with producing goods and selling them to customers who don’t know what to do with their money. In fact today, customers set the tone and trend for products that marketers must keep up with them! This reality calls for speed, innovation, creativity, and resourcefulness, as well as ethics and social responsibility.

In connection with CSR, I want to share with you guys this video/project that Coca-Cola Philippines created. I believe other countries are doing the same thing, but of course, no other campaign on happiness would touch your heart the best than one that involves your fellowmen. The first time I saw this, I cried. 😉 Somehow, even for just 4 minutes, I heard what overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) really, really wanted and felt even a tinge of their emotional burden. I bet if they’re earning here in the Philippines what they are earning abroad, they wouldn’t want to fly to distant countries. For parents, it’s heartbreaking not to witness the growth of your children (my Dad himself said it; he’s glad he witnessed ours). For young single children, it’s just as heartbreaking not to live beside your old, and sometimes, even sick, parents and also witness the growth of your younger siblings.

After watching this video, I embraced my role as a marketing student all the more. If this is what I am tasked to do–reconnecting separated families and making Christmases memorable–then I’m game. Living the line with joy is what I aim to do, after all. 😉 (naks may tagline din ako hahaha)

 

Author: Jenny J. Talam

Storyteller who actually prefers to read and listen to stories. Food fan. Budding events host. Collector and avid user of colorful pens and stack-high notebooks. Media enthusiast. Learner. Adventurer. Introvert. Child and servant of the one true King. Forgiven and loved. Hello, my name is Jennifer Grace. You can call me Jenny. Welcome to my story of grace! :)

4 thoughts on “Where Will Happiness Strike Next? Coca-Cola Phils’ The OFW Project”

  1. I’m sorry I would have to disagree. This video is a shameless exploitation by Coke of these peoples stories and manipulation of viewers emotions. I almost bought this videos message and sincerity until I saw all the product placement snuck into the video towards the end. Then I saw this for what it was – a dishonest appeal to sell more of their product especially there in the Philippines. If Coke really wanted to impress me as a company then they could have and should have done this anonymously as a good well message of giving back to people and communities. That would have equaled far better press as a company of people simply helping other people. It’s not like Coke does not already have the world wide name brand recognition or the money to do this anonymously a thousand times over for people with no strings attached.

    Sincerely,

    David Patton
    aka A Former Coca Cola customer.

Leave a comment